✦ Welcome to [www.tofokyo.com] ✦ New episode of Kero Kero Groove now available! Head over to the movies page to check it out ✦ I pray to god you guys have working Air Conditioning ✦ Don't mind the sparkles, it might make stuff harder to click but in return you get a cool effect :J ✦ Oh yeah if it wasn't apparent already, this website was made for 1080p screens (how ironic) ✦ Don't tell me what to do! ✦
#04

The tofokyo VHS/CRT mega-blog
Uploaded September 13th, 2023 | Go Back


Abandoned Pools - In Shadows

I'm currently going through art block, so I figured instead of trying to draw I'd make a new blogpost. Initially, this would've been a video with all sorts of editing and all that, but I decided that the blog format would probably be a better suit for this, considering I can easily link all my resources as I bring them up and still provide visuals to help accomodate, without having to worry about being super entertaining for an audience or anything like that. While I do prefer using real TVs, I will go over methods that are completely do-able on just a PC for free.


Now why the hell am I doing this? Well, personally I just wanna see more people using this effect on their work, and if there's a decent guide that explains how to do it then there ya go, world peace. Really though, there's just this ethereal look that these antiquated means provide that you cant really get elsewhere, it's a look I've really come to appreciate hence why all the media I post has it in one way or another. With that being said, I hope this blog will prove useful to anyone that wants this effect in their works.

Table of Contents

@crt_bot2 - twitter

Digital Means

@crt_bot2 - twitter

There are several ways to getting the CRT effect digitally, and by several I mean 2. There's the first one I used, EmuVR, essentially a retroarch frontend, and my personal favorite Shaderglass, which emulates a shader right on your desktop. I'll be going over how I use both here, starting with EmuVR.

EmuVR



Now I'm not gonna get into the details of "editing a video to crop to specific regions", I'm just gonna go ahead and explain how this can be used and how I used it, because if I got into the exact minutia then we'd be here all damn day!

For those unaware, there's a program called EmuVR (contrary to its name, its completely useable without VR), which lets you play all your retro games in this sort of 90's looking room with working CRTs and such. Now what we're interested in is that this program also allows you to watch .mp4 files on said TV's.

EmuVR

EmuVR

The way EmuVR works is that it's essintially emulating a CRT screen for each of these TV's, going as far as to have the actual individual RGBs viewable when you get real close, just like a real CRT! The method I used when I converted KKG Tech Debt to look like it was on a CRT was exactly as follows:

  1. Import my HD video into EmuVR
  2. Use a desktop recorder like OBS to capture EmuVR's playback of my video
  3. Crop and edit the OBS recording to fit the same aspect size & resolution of my original video

It's pretty similar to the process I use for real hardware actually, except its all done inside a computer.

Shaderglass



mausimus - Shaderglass

Next up I'll quickly talk about shaderglass, this is the program I used for the fighting game parts of KKG Fighting Snipers. This program essentially makes anything on your desktop into a CRT display, and honestly I couldn't ask for more from a program. It doesn't stop there though, this program comes with plenty of other effects you can try out too, not just CRT. There's all sorts of stuff from emulating a DS's internal resolution to displaying your monitor ON a literal tube television, it can get pretty nutty with how many effects there are, so I'd suggest taking some time to see what each one does and which is the right for you. Me personally, I'm a big fan of the CRT-torrigslide filter, its pretty much my default after sifting through them all- but im sure i'll probably use some of the other ones too in the future.

My EmuVR process is essentially the same for Shaderglass, although instead of using OBS to record a game window, im using it to record Shaderglass's output. Yeah one big downside to this program is that you can't just upload an .mp4 file and export it with your effect, you gotta record it using an external program. Again, I reccomend OBS.

Using Real Hardware

Now of course, first thing you're gonna need is a CRT. You can find them at thrift stores or in your parent's garage, either way just DON'T EVER USE EBAY, there's no way to check if it works, or even if it does it could easily be damaged during shipment, much like what happened to me when I first tried getting into CRTs orz As for everything else you need:

  • • An HDMI to RCA adapter

  • • A camera (smartphone works fine)

  • • A tripod

  • • A lot of patience

Now what you're gonna wanna do is firstly, set the HDMI adapter so your CRT is a second monitor on your PC. Then, load up your video on the "CRT Monitor". After that, set up your tripod so that it's facing the TV as dead-on as it can. This will be important as how well you do this step will determine how much editing you'll need to do after. I should also mention, make sure all the other lights in the room are off as lights can cause glare. Once you're readonly, hit record on your camera and start playing the video on PC. It's important that you let the entire video play in full without disturbing the camera. Any shakes or stuff like that will appear in the video, so unless you want that do not disturb the camera or TV!

After that, it's just a matter of getting the footage on to your PC and cropping it to the TV's edges- and vioala! You've achieved a 100% authentic CRT effect!

Digital Means

If you asked me how to do the VHS effect a few years back, I would've said real hardware is your only option. But that answer's actually changed since then.

ntscQT



A program I found out about a little bit ago, it allows you to not only upload photos and give them the VHS effect, but .mp4 files too! This by all means is your best option if you wanted to give your videos that nostalgic VHS flair, as not only does it allow mp4 files to be converted but the customizability is damn near endless as well!

JargeZ - ntscQT

Using Real Hardware

Before we get started on this, I just wanna preface this by saying this method is unecesarilly complicated. I mean it's trying to convert analog to digital, so there's bound to be some complications, but still! Make sure you keep that in mind! Here's a list of things you'll need:

Full disclosure right, I've only ever done this with a TV/VCR combo, so this is what my method is like, there may be some differences if you're doing this with a standard VCR hooked up to your TV.


I've made this incredbily elegant and stylish diagram to give a better idea of what you need to do- I know, no need to compliment it heh- So first thing you want to do is connect your HDMI to RCA from your PC to your TV input, then connect your TV output to your capture card, and connect that to the PC. These old capture cards usually come with some somftware that lets you record in them, but if yours didn't then OBS usually lets you record it as a webcam, just make sure its not flipped. Next you'll want to open up your video on your TV's monitor and fullscreen it. I like to wait a few seconds before hitting play, just so I have more tape to work with. Now get your blank tape, put it in your VCR, and hit record! You'll have to let your video play in full before continuing, so if your video is 20 mins you'll have to let it record the whole 20 minutes.
Once it's done, stop recording and rewind your tape. You'll want to rewind it to the very beginning and hit pause. Now open either your capture card software or OBS and start recording. NOW you can hit play on your tape, and you'll once again have to wait the full duration of the video. Once that's done, congratulations, you've successfully digitized a VHS recording of your own video, give yourself a pat on the back!

I hope you found this blog helpful or even inspiring, I like crts vhses and all this other old technology, so seeing it in more works would only be a good thing! That's about it for this blog, again it was kind of spontaneious, but hey that's just how I am. Hopefully the next one I'll be able to talk more about the animation I'm working on, as early production has just started. But until then..!



talk to ya' soon friend -tofokyo

You are visitor #!

New animation available on the movies page!

All music is now managed through the webamp plugin. The songs might need a sec to load, so if they don't have a duration listed just wait a few minutes and refresh the page. Playlist containing all the songs can be found here.

Leave your mark on tofokyo.com!

What are you waiting for? Make a neocities site TODAY!

Your contributions help keep me fed!!!

To get your button here, please check out the information
on the about page.

©️ tofokyo 2023